top of page
  • Writer's picturePrasad babu

Sorry, It's not a brain teaser. Part : 2

Last week i got a call from an unknown number and it was a girl.


Hello, i answered.


Hi, i am Prarthana, said the caller in her sweet voice.


The voice was of a teenager. Then again the age of a female cannot be identified, by her voice.


Hello low, i said.


I wanted to talk to you and is this the right time to talk to you sir, said the girl from the other end.


I thought it is a promotional call from some bank , insurance company or so.


Yes, go ahead. I said.


My name is Prarthana and i read few of your stories and got your number from the site, she said.


Great that you called me, i said with excitement.


I like your stories and the way you present them. I just wanted a help from you, she said.


Is she someone in trouble? Is she a prankster or is it she finding a reason to start a conversion? Or is it someone calling to abuse me, after reading my stories? I asked to myself.


Can you call me later, i am driving, i said and corrected; i will call you in my free time.


Okay, please do not forget, it’s important, she said.


Okay, i said before ending the call.


I did not forget her call. But i called her back around six in the evening, after several thoughts.


Hello, she answered the call in her sweet voice, after few rings.


Yes, tell me. I said with excitement.


I read your stories and i wanted to become someone like you. Can you help me with it?

She asked.


What a joke, I said.


No, i am serious. She replied.


See madam, i am just a beginner, aspiring to be a good writer someday. And it is amazing to know that there is someone who is inspired by me, i said with joy.


No sir, I am serious, she said.


Okay tell me, what kind of help are you looking for, I asked.


Thank you so much. I just made an attempt to write a story for the first time and is it alright to post in your site? She asked.


I don’t know. This is the first time, i am getting such a strange request and i don’t know what to say. Anyways send it to me, i said.


Thanks. Can you tell me the email address? She asked.


You have an option to send it to me on the site by filling your details, which you will find below the bar, where you can subscribe my blog. You can also email to me on flamesofdissent@gmail.com, I said.


Okay then, let me send it to your email address. Can you repeat that for me again? She said.


I repeated it and she read it back to me and thanked me before ending the call.


i got a call from her in the next 10 minutes, saying that she had already sent it and to check my inbox.


I sat on it for the next there days and got call from her all three days, pestering me to read her story.


Fourth day onward the frequency and the length of the calls increased.


So i had to read the story all in a hurry, skipping few things.


I read the whole story of three paragraphs and felt that she is some shrewd lady trying to mock me. Because the language, vocabulary, grammar is not at all prefect, just like mine.


It was just a story of three paragraphs which i can narrate in few lines.


I got a call from Prarthana on fifth day.


Hell low, I answered her call.


Sir, i know that you are busy, but can you tell me, have you read the story? She asked in her sweet and cute voice, filled with innocence and a kind of naughtiness.


Yes, i did. I answered.


O Great! Is it good? Is it worthy to be posted on your site? She had a series of question.


Okay, Let me say this, I just felt that you are mocking me through your story and i don’t know what i should say, I replied.


You sound very rude. I just thought that you would encourage people like me. I didn’t know that you are a spoil sport, she irritated me.


No, it’s actually. I am busy and the story is not something that i can post. You re-write the story and make some changes in the subject, message and the language, I said before ending the call.


Next day, i got an email from her, with the same three paragraphs story, written replacing few words.


As expected, Prarthana called me at around six in the evening. I called her at six in the evening on the first day and she assumed that is the time at whic, i am free to answer her calls. Hence it became a routine.


Hi, how are you? Can you just tell me how good it is? She asked.


I am fine. I read it and i seriously cannot say that it is good to post. I said so and started to look for an appropriate filler.


Okay, i am listening. She exhibited her impatience.


Let me see, what i can do to take your story out of this chicken soup. I think that i just have to take you out of it and apply me in it, I said.


Okay, do whatever is required. Shall i go ahead and tell my friends, that you will rewrite my story? She asked.


I don’t mind. But i will not do it on today. I will do it on some day, when i am free.


Okay, that means you need a week’s time to re-write my story, she tried give me a deadline.


Can’t promise it, but i will. And i don’t do well with ultimatums.


Okay. Then, is it alright to continue with this conversation every day, till it’s over? She asked in her sweet voice.


Okay, anytime. Anything for you, I said.


So you know to talk like this. I am glad. She mocked me.


Great that i have someone ,who will follow my instructions, she continued.


Yes, your highness, i said.


So can you tell me how soon you will finish it, She asked again.


Madam, you are acting like someone who is paying for doing this job, i said.


I am ready to pay for it, if you wish, she offered money.


I don’t want money, i said.


Then what do you want? She asked.


I think, it is not fair to take money from women, i said.


Then, she stopped.


What? I asked.


You should know. She replied.


I got that, which is why i said that it is not fair to take money from women. In other words, it’s not money. It is love that matters in a relationship. I said.


I will give you a treat, if you could finish it in two days, she said.


Ho no, i do not want a treat and i don’t think i will be able to finish in two days. I said.


But you said that you will do anything for me and i am just adding a reward for it. Isn’t that great? And i did say that you are a spoil sport. She said.


Okay, i will.


Okay then tell me, what are you going to do after i end this call? She asked.


I am going to re-write your story in two days and have that posted, i replied.


Forget about the two days. Just tell me what are you going to do right after this call, She demanded.


I will start working on it right away, i said.


Remember the rewards, i have offered, a treat and i have something for you now.


I could hear the sound of her lips kissing her phone.


What is this Prarthana? I applied my, “indifferent attitude”.


You will get my photo on watsapp on the day, you post my story and a treat from me. You will enjoy my company. She said.


Okay, i will finish this in two days. Then let me see you, i said.


You will love it. I am sure. She said.


Then, let me say that the story also will be something you will love, i said.


Do you want more kisses? She asked.


Let me get all of them, when i meet you, i said.


You will get lot of them. Be prepared, she said.


Oh, i will. i said.


Do you know that i am hot, sexy and young? She asked.


Send me your picture on watsapp or may i know your FB Id? Let me see how sexy and beautiful you are. I asked.


You will get all that, once you finish my story, she disappointed me with carrot and stick theory.


I don’t think, it’s a fair deal. It’s okay, because it’s just a matter of two days, I agreed.


First, show how lovable your story is and meet me to show how lovable you are? She said with a giggle.


Oh god, you are just another freak on earth, i said.


Not really, i am very serious, she said.


Okay, i understand, i said before ending the call and started to write that story.


To Be Continued.

Recent Posts

See All

Endnote.

Endnote. This few lines which I call ‘endnote’, will be the last thing published on flamesofdissent.com. It will help all those who...

Comments


Top Stories

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page