top of page
  • Writer's picturePrasad babu

An evening, away from humans...

It’s been few days in Hyderabad and all i did in my free time was nothing other than watching movies on YouTube, reading and drinking heavily. So, last Sunday i decided to do something other than the usual stuff. But i stayed in my room till 3Pm, wondering what else i can do other than Alcohol, reading and YouTube movies. Finally i decided to visit KBR Park in Jubilee hills, to spend some time there. I thought that an evening in the park would help me relax more in solitude. On the way, i purchased a pen and a notepad, though i had nothing in mind to write. I reached the park entrance by around 5 o clock, in the evening. I purchased entry ticket by paying 25 rupees and entered the park. It excited me because; the human presence there was very less. There were few old people gathered here and there, while few others were walking seriously to increase their lifespan. And i was more interested in plants, trees, birds and was excited to see some animals like monkey, rabbits, mongoose etc. Walking through the park on visitor’s path, i saw trees, plants, bushes, rocks, over a hundred species of insects, birds and reptiles. Some of those plants and trees were flower bearing and it's sight was a visual treat for my eyes. It made me forget the world around and i started to float in cloud nine. After walking for a while, i saw a huge stone under a tree. I sat on it and kept my water bottle next to me on the stone. I thought, it’s a great place to sit and write something. So i took the note pad and pen from my pocket. Upon seeing this a crow, which was sitting on a tree came flying to me, saying; Ka....Kaaa...Kaaa.


Why do you write about us? See you humans spoil our habitat, food and our existence. On top of that you are watching us so closely, to write about us. Don’t you think that, you are crossing the limit by invading our privacy? The Crow said.


My friend, i love you all. I love you all, more than i love humans because you are friendly and harmless. I just can’t stop myself from writing. In fact humans hate me for a number of reasons and the most recent one is that i write. So, i decided to make you guys the subject of my next story. I explained.


Oh! Yeah! I get it. You are the guy from Kerala, who will criticize and make fun of anything through your writing. I know you and i am glad to meet you. Beware; you will know the sharpness of our beaks, if you make fun of us, said the Crow.


Yes, you humans are making our life impossible on earth. On top of that, if you criticize us, then you surely will know, what we could do to you, threatened a Parrot.


Look kid, i call you kid, because i find you too weak. I do not want to harm you, said a Wood Pecker which came flying and sat on the tree above me.


My friend, i love you all and wanted to spend some time here. I am not here to harm you. So don’t treat me like an enemy, i begged.


I have no problem in you coming here. But you will know the seriousness, if you write anything bad about us. The Wood Pecker said in a threatening tone.


No, i won’t write anything bad about you guys, i tried to convince.


Good for you. It takes no time for me to cut the hardest wood. And your flesh and bones are not a challenge for my beaks. I know that you want to bring out the misery of others, through your stories. You love to write entertaining stories. But you are reckless and it is good for you, if you stay in your limits. The Wood Pecker continued to threaten.


Let me promise you that, i will not write anything bad about you guys, I reassured.


Hearing this, a Kingfisher came and sat on the tree above me and said; Mr. Prasad...Oh! Sorry... Mr. Writer. We know that it is your hobby to write, but how could you be so rude?See how beautiful i am. I am one among those most beautiful, ever created by god. How could you be so mean to make fun of us? Also know that i have friends like peacock, who are very influential. Not just here, they have hold, even in the central ministry.


I was wondering as what makes them say all this..


The Kingfisher continued to threaten; see, if you mock us through your writing despite all this warning, then we will make sure that all we birds will shit on you, anytime we see you out in the open.


Hearing this, a passerby stray dog came and said Bow.....Bow....Bow.bowoooooo.


Hi, i am your friend. Please come and sit here, i said.


He raised his head to look at the sky and said; Bow...Bow...Bowooooooo, as if he is not happy with me.


Then he came and sat in front of me. I could see saliva dripping from his tongue, which was 3 inch long, projecting out of his mouth, which was wide open.


Tell me why are you here in this park, i asked.


We dogs and Cats eat raw grass, when our stomach is upset. It is available here in plenty. I am sick and i just came to have some green grass, the Dog said.


Then we saw a Monkey coming to us with a garland of jasmine flower around his neck. He had a packet of potato chips and a banana in his hand.


Finally, i saw someone who (according to Darwin) is our ancestor and we just cannot stop saying; ‘Jai Bajrang Bali’, i said upon seeing the monkey.


Oh! It’s you. Why are you here? Did they chase you out of town, because of your dirty stories? Are you not Prasad? The Monkey asked.


Yes. It’s me, i said with embarrassment.


Would you like to eat this chips and banana? Do you get something to eat? Or are you hear with your empty stomach? The Monkey continued to make fun of me.


No thanks. My friend, i had my lunch in the noon. I said.


Then it could be true that you have borrowed money from your mom. You would not have been here, if you had a job, the Monkey continued to irritate me.


No, i had food. I have a job. It’s my off today and i just wanted to spend an evening with you people, because i love you all, i explained.


Now, can you tell me why you have a garland around your neck? i asked.


I snatched it from a flower seller for fun. Then i heard some of you say a proverb that we monkeys are brainless and there is no point in us getting a jasmine. We will end up rubbing it on our butts. So i decided to wear it around my neck, just like how you humans do, the Monkey explained.


You have only enemies and no friend, all because of your stupid writing. Now, do want to mess with us as well? the Monkey asked.


No, i just came here to relax for a while.


Okay, then why do you have a pen and note pad with you? The Monkey asked.


It’s just that, i can write something interesting about you guys.

And nothing bad about you guys, i replied.


Alright, i can tell you my story, only if you promise that you will not present it in a disgusting manner. The Dog said.


Okay, i agreed.


You Humans are very cruel. You people kill our puppies with your cars. You humans pelt stones on our young ones. Did you humans ever see us bothering you for food? Forget about food, you people won’t even help us with drinking water even during the summer. So we end up drinking water from sewerage and water bodies around, which are also contaminated by you humans, the Dog said.


Oh! Yeah, i did hear the story of my grandma putting stones into a container to bring the water level up, so that she could drink water from it. Now i see you human keeping drinking water here and there with a lid, which only human can use. But you guys here are better, that you provide water for passerby. My friends from other cities say that it is not a practice in their home town. But why can’t you, keep some water for us in an open vessel, said the Crow.


Most of us drink the nectar from flowers, which is so sweet. But nowadays most of those flower bearing plants are missing, because you humans killed those insects and beautiful butterflies that used to help those plants in sex (the process of pollination). As a result, our friends who produce honey, are also affected and are, going through a tough time, said the Parrot.


And listen we make a particular sound to attract our opposite sex for mating. Now such messages are being disrupted by you human. You use machines which produces loud sound and our signals to our opposite sex for mating goes unheard, said the Kingfisher.


I didn’t know what to say. So i remained silent.


It’s so difficult to reach out to someone for mating, because you humans will screw-up our signals. And we do not use gadgets and Apps, like you humans. And your cell-phone towers and its radiations causes lot of suffocation for us, especially for our young ones. Even if we lay eggs in our carefully built nest, it is exposed to the risk of you humans felling the tree. Due to all these reason, our numbers are reducing day by day, the Kingfisher said.


All of a sudden, we heard a sound from far.


Troooh!.......Truoooh!.......Truoooooh!


Then, we saw a frog which came out from its cave saying;


Troooh!.......Truoooh!.......Truoooooh!


It was a communication between frogs for mating.


Next thing we heard was a loud sound of shrill horn of cars from outside the park. And it stopped the Troooh!.......Truoooh!.......Truoooooh! Sound we heard from far.


The frog went back to its cave saying; you humans do not like us mating and reproducing.

Recent Posts

See All

Endnote.

Endnote. This few lines which I call ‘endnote’, will be the last thing published on flamesofdissent.com. It will help all those who...

コメント


Top Stories

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page